The Theseus Paradox by David Videcette

The Theseus Paradox by David Videcette
Published in 2015
ISBN: 099342631X

Description:

This is a fictional story about Jake, a detective inspector, but it is based around the 7/7 bombings in London. It takes us through what happened and how Jake and the police investigate the bombings. The author leaves the reader to decide what is fact and what is fiction.

Review:

I really enjoy crime based thrillers and this book was no exception.

I have to admit that, although I know this is a story, because it was set around a real event, I found myself really imagining what it would have been like to be there at the 7/7 bombings and what I would have done if I had been involved in either the bombings themselves or the investigation. Because I knew it was based around a real event, I felt much more ‘invested’ in the book and wanted to know what the outcome was. This made it a better read for me as I felt myself wanting the ‘good’ in the story to win over the ‘bad’.

Although, in real life, I imagine Jake as a person would really frustrate and annoy me, I found myself warming to him and really hoping all his efforts within the investigation would come to fruition. He is what I imagine a typical copper to be – completely married to the job and consumed by any investigation he is working on.

I liked that you could imagine Jake and what he was thinking or how he was feeling. The book was well paced throughout and you didn’t have to wait long to get to the next snippet of storyline.

Weirdly, I also enjoyed that the story didn’t really end – it has left me hanging and wanting to know more – both about Jake and the story!! There are so many unanswered questions for me and I am desperate to read the next instalment.

In summary I would say this is a well written, well-structured book, which will more than hold your interest through the story and leave you salivating for more!! (Yes I used the word salivating!! But that’s exactly how I felt!!) Brilliant from beginning to end!!

5 stars from me – if you like crime, a thrilling storyline and a main character that is a loveable rogue then this is the book for you!!

Leave a Reply

